Club tournament results

NSW Handicap Championships
10-13 June 2005
The final series of the NSW Handicap Championships (Beryl Chambers Memorial Event) were held at Mackey Park, Tempe on June 10th-13th. There were thirteen block winners from the following clubs:- Bundanoon, Canberra, Killara, Lismore, Maitland, Manly, Miller, Narooma, Orange, Park, Sydney, Tamworth, Wagga and Woollongong.

Because of the greater number of entrants from country areas there were ten country players and only three from the metropolitan area.

Competitors’ handicaps ranged from 0.5 to 18 and this meant that the bisque sticks were often referred to as a forest. Having made the finals it was obvious that players on the higher handicaps had learnt how to use their bisques to good advantage.

The games were all played in a good spirit and the standard was high with all players using forward play to good effect. The general comment from competitors was that this had been a great tournament and that they had learnt a huge amount. Those players who were relatively new to competition were surprised and grateful for the advice and encouragement given by the better players.

The competition was played in two round robin blocks with the winner and runner up progressing to play on Monday

Block A was won by Barbara Bidencope of Tamworth, runner-up Peter Lloyd of Wagga Wagga.
Block B was won by John Harris of Canberra, runner-up Graham Scott of Wollongong.

The overall winner was Barbara Bidencope, runner-up John Harris.

See the full results.

Thanks must go to Margot Johnston and her team of referees and to the members of Hurstville Croquet Club for the catering.

Congratulations to all players throughout the state who entered in the competition this year. I am sure that next year’s event will be bigger and better. If the entry statistics remain the same Croquet NSW will need to seriously consider holding the final series in a country region.

Jacky McDonald