Club tournament results

Port Macquarie Jubilee Carnival
16-23 July 2005
Port Macquarie Croquet Club
The club’s 50th Carnival was held from 16th to 22nd July. The event was a great success, with excellent competition, beautiful weather and good company.

The proceedings were colourfully opened by the Town Crier. This was followed by the Mayor, Rob Drew, successfully running the first hoop. The Opening Ceremony was attended by presidents from other Mid North Coast Clubs and a number of previous members of the club. The oldest of these was 94 year old Bess Montgomerie, who cut the Jubilee cake.

There were 44 competitors from 26 clubs in N.S.W., Queensland, Victoria and Tasmania. The presidents of Killara (Fay Simpson) and Cheltenham (Janelle Wood) were specially invited, as members of those two clubs were present at the club’s first carnival in 1956. They also presented the club with a perpetual trophy, to be awarded to the first person to peg out. The first winner was Brian Manton, from Port Macquarie. Neil Hartley, President of Croquet N.S.W., honoured us with his presence for a couple of days.

Four major social events were held during the week. For the Welcoming Dinner we took over a restaurant and had a very enjoyable and lively evening. We were entertained by Pam Ingham’s verse, Ed Skipsey’s singing, Margo Crabtree’s joke, Elmore Leischke... It was a good evening.

One memorable event was a cocktail party given by the Westpac bank. When the club was formed in 1951 the committee meetings were held in the bank chambers (then the Bank of N.S.W.), and croquet was held on the lawn behind the bank. The club moved to its present premises, with beautiful waterfront views, in 1953.

The competition was good and Jim Hicks, a member of both the Port Macquarie and Urunga Clubs, was able to successfully defend his title.

Bridget Earle (Carnival Secretary)


Division A: Jim Hicks (Port Macquarie/Urunga) 1, Kevin Geyer(Horsham) 2.
Division B: Bev Oldfield (Urunga) 1, John Read(Orange) 2.
Division C: Pam Ingham (National Park) 1, Sue Moss (Port Macquarie) 2.
Division D: Geoff Kingdon (Tasmania) 1, Harry Taylor (Coogee) 2.
Division E: Margaret Mitchell (Murwillumbah) 1, Elmore Leischke (Albury) 2.
Division F: Glenda Smith (Coolangatta) 1, Judy Thompson (Phillip Island) 2.
Division G: Tony Earle (Port Macquarie) 1, Brian Manton (Port Macquarie) 2.


Division A: Kevin Geyer (Horsham)and Geoff Kingdon (Tasmania)
Division B: Dennis Shipp (EDSACC) and Margo Crabtree (Tweed Heads)
Division C: Ian Bailey (National Park) and Noel Moore (Forster)
Division D: Roy Bryant and Kay Bryant (Milton-Ulladulla)
Division E: Beryl Hearne (Scone) and Helen James (Orange)