Club tournament results

Lismore Carnival of Croquet
7-13 August 2005
Lismore Croquet Club
Lismore Croquet Club is delighted by the success of their recent croquet carnival. In the third year in which this event has been staged the club was very impressed to find that 17 new players from as far away as Melbourne joined old friends from places including Taree, Forster and Newcastle.

The quality of players was also impressive with the Melinda Brown Memorial Event filled with competitors holding bisques of 2.5 or better, vying with Byron Bay’s Max Donati on –1.5. Max provided his usual excitement with a successful Straight Triple Peel , a manoeuvre requiring special accuracy and skill, not before seen in this district. Following a loss to Geof McDonald from National Park (Newcastle), Max was able to take the title on a countback from Judy Evans of Mornington (Victoria).

Judy’s husband,Snow also filled the Runnerup position, losing only to undefeated Max Wiltshire of National Park in Block B. Taree’s President John Talbot took out Block C from Pam Durie of Toronto.

The other three blocks were dominated by the Ballina trio of Julie O’Brien, Jean Hill and Val Martin. In her first win in an open tournament, Julie performed in great style, with no losses to defeat Jacky McDonald from National Park. Captain of Ballina, Jean Hill filled the second place in her Block to Judy Pedlow from Ringwood, Melbourne. Teammate Val Martin lost only one game to win her Block with Brian Manton from Port McQuarie, a worthy runnerup.

The support of local organizations including Lismore District Workers Club, Aspectnorth and Mayne Investments, was greatly appreciated in ensuring that the club was able to support such an event. This is a sport which is especially valuable in allowing a range of mental and physical abilities to be utilised to varying degrees for a very wide range of age groups. It is wonderful to be able to showcase the skills involved at our own local level.

MELINDA BROWN MEMORIAL EVENTMax Donati(Byron Bay)Judy Evans(Mornington, Melbourne)
Block BMax Wiltshire(National Park)Snow Evans(Mornington)
Block CJohn Talbot(Taree)Pam Durie(Toronto)
Block DJulie O’Brien(Ballina)Jacky McDonald(National Park)
Block EJudy Pedlow(Ringwood, Melbourne)Jean Hill(Ballina)
Block FVal Martin(Ballina)Brian Manton(Port Macquarie)