Club tournament results

Port Macquarie Inaugural Golf Croquet Carnival
20-22 September 2006
Port Macquarie Croquet Club
The Club’s Inaugural Golf Croquet Carnival was held between the 20th and 22nd September. 40 competitors played 3 games in 5 blocks of doubles, and 36 competitors played 5 games, of level play singles, in 6 blocks.

Tournament Referee, Jim Hicks, oversaw all 120 matches with his usual diligence. Before the carnival Jim ran two workshops, so that we had a good team of referees to cover all the singles games.

The weather was extremely kind to us with three beautiful, warm, sunny days.

The social interaction was excellent. On Wednesday night we had dinner next door, at Westport Bowling Club. After the presentation, on Friday night, we had finger food. Barbara Parkes and her team, together with all the delicious cakes and slices provided by our members, looked after our gastronomic needs.

Broadwater Gardens, Port Macquarie, were the sole sponsors of the event. Their very generous sponsorship enabled us to run an excellent carnival. They also donated a perpetual trophy for the carnival winner.

The results were:


Block A: 1st - Bill Blaikie (Taree); 2nd - Bob Hokin (Taree)
Block B: 1st - Joe Dimeck (Taree); 2nd - Margaret Sears (Macquarie City)
Block C: 1st - Margaret Leese (Urunga); 2nd - Mollie Carter (Nelson Bay)
Block D: 1st - Yvonne Bagnall (Gloucester); 2nd - Barbara Piggott (Urunga)
Block E: 1st - Albert Demaret (Woolgoolga); 2nd - Robert Leese (Urunga)
Block F: 1st - Maryanne Sharwood (Urunga); 2nd - Barrie Carter (Nelson Bay)


Block A: Margaret Leese (Urunga) and Bill Blaikie (Taree)
Block B: Joe Dimech (Taree) and Margaret Sears (Macquarie City)
Block C: Lorraine Craig (Macquarie City) and John Ikin (Gloucester)
Block D: Yvonne Bagnall (Gloucester) and Anne Stark (Macquarie City)
Block E: Maryanne Sharwood (Urunga) and Barrie Carter (Nelson Bay)

Bridget Earle
Carnival manager