Club tournament results

Taree Wild Fig Carnival
13-18 May 2007
Taree Croquet Club
Taree Croquet Club’s 4th Wild Fig Carnival for Association Croquet was a great success. Twenty four players competed in doubles blocks on the first day, then in round robin blocks for five days of singles games. Taree members were pleased to welcome seven entrants who had not played at Taree before, as well as familiar croquet friends from past events. Weather forecasts that threatened us with rain, cold and wind were pushed back eventually to Friday - one heavy downpour, and a few light showers in the afternoon - but could not interrupt the games nor the barbecue that followed the trophy presentation.

Thanks go to the team who work so well together to present such a friendly and relaxed atmosphere for the competition. Our sincere thanks also to Country Energy for their generous donation which provides the trophies for the winners and runners up.

Doubles winners -
Block A - Lyn Rayward (Taree) and Jean Leschke (Walla Walla).
Block B - Bob Hokin (Taree) and David Brook (Mosman).
Block C - Archie McCulloch (Forster) and Lindsay Thompson (Mosman).
Block D - Denny Reedy (Bathurst) and Bridget Earle (Port Macquarie).
Singles winners -
Block A - Bob Hokin (Taree), runner up Fred Harvey (Maitland).
Block B - Archie McCulloch (Forster), runner up Denny Reedy (Bathurst).
Block C - Bill Strick (Dubbo City), runner up Tony Earle (Port Macquarie).
Block D - Jean McCulloch (Forster), runner up Jenny Williams (Forster).

First peg out of the week - Archie McCulloch who had 4 peg outs and 22 for 5 wins.

Biggest break of the week - Ross Williams (Forster) - 12 hoops.

Jan Sage