Club tournament results

3rd Taree-on-Manning Golf Croquet Carnival
17-19 Oct 2007
Taree Croquet Club
The world of Golf Croquet is changing. Not only are the numbers of players increasing at an amazing rate, but the standard of play and the competitiveness of the players are also so different from just a couple of years ago. Players are no longer moving around the courts in small groups of four, but playing and enjoying singles competition with far more advanced tactics and skills.

The number of entries to this year’s carnival was more than could be accommodated by the format for thirty six players. The doubles event was played on Wednesday morning, followed by the first round of the singles. Singles round robin groups continued until 5.00pm on Friday, with many of the block winners decided by the last games.

Players, club members and partners enjoyed the fun of Pizza and Salad and Croquet Under Lights on Wednesday night, Carnival Dinner at the Taree RSL and Golf Club on Thursday night, and finally the Trophy Presentation and Farewell Barbecue on Friday night.

The Carnival Committee thanks the referee from Forster club who assisted for two days, the Taree referees, and the players who refereed between their games.

Many thanks also to Country Energy for their sponsorship of the trophies that were presented, and to Twilight Caravan Park for their prize for the highest aggregate score.

Doubles winners -
Block A - John Coates (Forster) and Chris Ogilvie (Toronto).
Block B - Bob Ogilvie (Toronto) and Bev Smith (Maitland).
Block C - Kevin Page (Toronto) and Bridget Earle (Port Macquarie).
Block D - Sylvia Andrews (Port Macquarie) and Huntly Reid (Port Macquarie)

Singles -
Block A - John Coates (Forster), runner up Ron Johnstone (Sutherland).
Block B - Barb Piggott (Urunga), runner up Chris Ogilvie (Toronto).
Block C - Kevin Page (Toronto), runner up Peter Smith (Maitland).
Block D - Bridget Earle (Port Macquarie), runner up Lyn Dimech (Taree).
Block E - Huntly Reid (Port Macquarie), runner up Jan Vaughan (Blue Mountains).
Block F - Beverly Murray (Gloucester), runner up Bev Smith (Maitland).

Twilight Caravan Park Prize - Kevin Page (Toronto).

John Friend, Bob Ogilvie, Bridget Earle

Bill, Chris and Dulcie

Kevin Page, Tom Akre, John Talbot

Farewell BBQ