Club tournament results

3rd Golf Croquet Carnival
17-19 Sep 2008
Port Macquarie Croquet Club
Our 3rd Golf Croquet Carnival was held over three days in fair weather, in our beautiful setting by the water. The thirty six entrants took part in keenly fought competition, with the standard improving each year. There were four doubles blocks and six singles blocks.

Players came from The Blue Mountains, Gloucester, Jamberoo, Maitland, Myall Park, Nelson Bay, Port Macquarie, Taree, Toronto and Urunga. Everyone enjoyed three days of good competition and social interaction. We were well looked after by Barbara Parkes and her team of helpers, who worked hard to look after our gastronomic needs. As usual, the club members provided us with delicious cakes, slices and soup.

Our sole sponsors were Broadwater Gardens, Port Macquarie, who were very generous again. Trophies and prizes were presented by Gary Murcott outside our Buller Street courts.

The results were:

Block A: Winner: Peter Smith (Maitland), Runner-up: Tony Hall (Canberra)
Block B: Winner: John Hincks (Port Macquarie), Runner-up: Elsina Dilley (Maitland)
Block C: Winner: Barrie Carter (Nelson Bay), Runner-up: Lyn Dimech (Taree)
Block D: Winner: Maryanne Sharwood (Individual), Runner-up: Paul Mitchell (Port Macquarie)
Block E: Winner: Yvonne Bagnall (Gloucester), Runner-up: John Ikin (Gloucester)
Block F: Winner: Bev Smith (Maitland), Runner-up: Lorraine Friend (Blue Mountains)
Block A: Winners: Tony Hall (Canberra) & Margaret Leese (Urunga)
Block B: Winners: John Compton (Jamberoo) & Chris Ogilvie (Toronto)
Block C: Winners: Bev Murray (Gloucester) & Robyn Compton (Maitland)
Block D: Winners: John Ikin (Gloucester) & June Muston (Toronto)

Bridget Earle
Carnival Manager