Club tournament results

Taree-on-Manning Golf Croquet Carnival
15-17 Oct 2008
Taree Croquet Club
Thirty six golf croquet players, from Urunga to Blackheath to Wollongong, and many clubs in between competed in Taree Croquet Club’s fourth annual Golf Croquet Carnival.

Rain fell in the days prior to the event, but the three days of competition were fine, overcast or sunny. Doubles and singles were contested in one hundred and eleven games. Club President Ron Drury welcomed the players to Taree, with a special mention for those who were playing at the club for the first time, and also for those who were competing in a Carnival for the first time.

Competition was fierce and the accumulating results were followed closely, and carefully analysed as the scores were added to the board. The atmosphere of the event was relaxed and friendly, and the players enjoyed a number of social events – fun games and pizza on Wednesday, dinner at Sailo’s Restaurant on Thursday, and trophy presentation followed by a barbecue on Friday night. Many of the players have booked their place, and accommodation, for next year.

A sincere thank you goes to the groundsmen who maintained and set up the courts each morning, the wonderful kitchen staff who prepared the lunches and snacks, the generous club members who donated goods to the Carnival, and the managers who kept everything running smoothly – order of games, record keeping, handicap cards and more.

Results - Doubles -
Block A - Steve Dilley (Gloucester) and Will Paulson (Taree). Will is a relatively new player and this was his first carnival. Well done! Congratulations!
Block B - Barb Piggott (Urunga) and Shirley Page (Toronto).
Block C - Don Scifleet (Forster) and Bev Murray (Gloucester).
Block D - Terry Abbott and Irene Abbott (Cheltenham).

Singles -
Block A - Joe Dimech (Taree), runner up Steve Dilley (Gloucester).
Block B - Tony Earle (Port Macquarie), runner up Lyn Dimech (Taree).
Block C - John Ikin (Gloucester), runner up Kevin Page (Toronto).
Block D - Shirley Page (Toronto), runner up Bev Murray (Gloucester).
Block E - John Knowles (Forster), runner up Carol Hayes (Wollongong).
Block F - Will Paulson (Taree), not only the doubles but also the singles winner in his first carnival, runner up Dion Stump (Myall Park).