Club tournament results

Taree Wild Fig Carnival
3-8 May 2009
Taree Croquet Club
Taree’s 6th Annual Association Carnival was played in wonderful autumn weather, sunny, cool and warm, and with the occasional light shower which was never enough to dampen the spirits of the 24 entrants.

In a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, competition included doubles and singles events. Social events are also important and lots of fun. Pizza and Salad at the clubhouse after fun games on Monday night, Dinner With Friends at the Sailing Club on Wednesday night - always popular at the best club restaurant in town - and the Trophy Presentation and Farewell Barbecue on Friday night.

The Carnival Committee thanks Bim and Lloyd Petrie, Carol Armstrong and Penny Jude all from Forster Croquet Club for assisting with the refereeing. Also thank you to Twilight Caravan Park for their generous sponsorship of two special prizes being presented at this carnival.

After more than a years planning and preparation this was the week that the surface of the new court was laser leveled and the laying of the turf began. The level surface showed up the present courts, but also gave rise to plans for future projects. Wesley’s Employment Services work experience crew laid the turf over a number of days, and after a light rolling our third court was looking great and providing a cause for celebration. We are aware that there is still much work to do!! It was also very good to share this time with our visiting players.

Results -

Doubles Winners -
Block A, Ray Vize (Forster) and Margaret Gray (Port Macquarie)
Block B, Jan Sage (Taree) and Jenny Williams (Forster)
Block C, Archie McCulloch (Forster) and Helen Blaikie (Taree)
Block D, Denny Reedy (Bathurst) and Patricia Goldrick (Killara).
Singles -
Block A, winner Bill Blaikie (Taree), runner up Ray Vize (Forster)
Block B, winner Alan Gray (Port Macquarie), runner up John Talbot (Taree)
Block C, winner Annette McManus (Bathurst), runner up Jenny Arnold (Sawtell)
Block D, winner Barb Piggott (Urunga), runner up Margaret Gray (Port Macquarie).
Twilight Caravan Park Prizes -
highest hoop score, Bill Blaikie (Taree) with 5 pegouts - 130
player winning every game, Barb Piggott (Urunga).