Club tournament results

Autumn Golf Croquet Carnival
18-21 March 2010
Young Croquet Club
Margie Long & Dot & Pat Moroney


Near perfect weather conditions over the week preceding and during the carnival were most welcome for all players taking part in the event.

This year the club had more improvements allowing extra sheltered seating and an office for the officials which proved a real asset to the running of the carnival.

Participants travelled from many parts of the state from as far north as Urunga to Walla Walla in the south. Two Victorian clubs Rich River and Deniliquin were also represented.

Two referees, Tournament referee, Jim Clement and Graham Howie from Victoria officiated along with Gillian Powell as non playing referees and were assisted by player referees and several suitable people who have just completed their examinations and are awaiting their results. Our thanks go to them for their dedication to refereeing and many hours on the court.

Graham, Jim & Rob Watson

The well attended Carnival dinner was held at the Australian Hotel where all players, members and friends gathered for an enjoyable meal and much frivolity.

The four days of very competitive games all played in good spirit showed some interesting handicap changes. Joe Dimech who entered on a handicap of two was changed to one after completing his last game. His jump shots were amazing and had to be seen to be believed. Congratulations Joe.

It was pleasing to see first time block winners who gained more confidence as a result of their wins and the encouragement needed to play in more carnivals. Congratulations.



The doubles results were:

Block A winners Joe Dimech (Taree) and Betty Ball (Jamberoo) - runners up John Compton (Maitland) and Patrick Hobson (Wollongong)
Block B winners Bill Haines (Blue Mountains) and Robyn Compton (Maitland) - runners up Graham Innocent (Dubbo) and Helen James (Orange)
Block C winners Marlene Peterson (Young / Cowra) and Dot Moroney (Jamberoo) - runners up Roger Fox (Orange) and Jeff Pumpa (Rich River)

The singles results were:

Block A winner Joe Dimech (Taree) - runner up John Friend (Blue Mountains)
Block B winner Sylvia Andrews (Port Macquarie) - runner up Graham Innocent (Dubbo)
Block C winner Margaret Sawers (Nowra) - runner up Lyn Dimech (Taree)
Block D winner Bernice Carter (Bribie Island /Young) - runner up Mike Speak (Blue Mountains)
Block E winner Robyn Compton (Maitland) - runner up Joan Christopher (Wollongong)
Block F winner Jeff Pumpa (Rich River) - runner up Roz Watson (Walla Walla)

At the conclusion of play an afternoon tea and presentation of awards completed the carnival.At the conclusion of play a farewell afternoon tea and presentation completed the Carnival.

Many complimentary remarks were made about the running of the Carnival with players wishing to return next year to participate again. I must say I had a wonderful tournament committee and a team of hard working and dedicated members to help. Without them it could not have been the success it was.

Gillian Powell
Tournament Manager