Club tournament results

55th Association Croquet Carnival
28 Jul - 1 Aug 2010
Port Macquarie Croquet Club
Aerial view of PMCC by Tony Earle from his RV 12 at 1500 ft,
where he had a nagging suspicion about a still ball.
Click to enlarge
Port Macquarie Croquet Club’s 55th Carnival was held from Wednesday 28th July to Sunday 1st August. A field of 26 entrants included players from Ballina, Bundanoon, Forster, Individual, Jamberoo, Killara, Maitland, Mosman, Narooma, Orange, Port Macquarie, Sawtell, Taree and Walla Walla.

30mm of driving rain did not deter the intrepid doubles players on the first day. Once again the Individual Doubles format, devised by Larry Bryant, proved very popular. In this, everyone plays with four different partners against eight different opponents,

Seasoned competitors and enthusiastic newcomers enjoyed friendly and challenging competition in four Round Robin blocks of advanced play. Ray Vize, Trevor Black and Margaret Leese were the only undefeated singles players.

There were many opportunities for our GC and AC helpers to socialize with the visiting players both during each day and at the two social events: dinner at The Westport Club and sharing sumptuous fare at the awards presentation.

Individual Doubles:
Winner: Robert Leese (Sawtell), Runner-up: Trevor Black (Maitland)
Block A: Winner: Ray Vize (Forster), Runner-up: William Gilchrist (Mosman)
Block B: Winner: Trevor Black (Maitland), Runner-up: Alan Gray (Port Macquarie)
Block C: Winner: Margaret Leese (Sawtell), Runner-up: Rosemary Stillman (Sawtell)
Block D: Winner: Robert Leese (Sawtell), Runner-up: Jan Serotzki (Ballina)

We thank the referees who were coordinated by Tournament Referee Jim Hicks: Jenny Arnold, Trevor Black, Larry Bryant, Lynette Bryant, Mark Callan, John Deeves, Bridget Earle, Tony Earle, William Gilchrist, Jim Hicks, Margaret Leese, Jean Leischke, Sue Moss, Thyra Neilson, Ellen Puxty-Johansen, John Read, Jan Serotzki, Fay Simpson, Robin Shenton, Peter Smith, Ray Vize.

Bridget Earle
Carnival Manager