Club tournament results

Taree-on-Manning Golf Croquet Carnival
13-15 Oct 2010
Taree Croquet Club
Shirley Page of Toronto Croquet Club
and Zan Menzel of Gloucester Croquet Club,
the winners of Doubles Block C
There were 48 players from 15 Croquet Clubs taking part in the sixth Taree-on-Manning Golf Croquet Carnival held from Wednesday 13th to Friday 15th October. The players came from as far away as Young in the south west, Jamberoo in the south and Urunga in the north. The rain which fell on much of the State that week spared Taree and the only shower fell during a couple of sessions on Friday.

Taree members kept the players supplied with tea, coffee, home made slices and sandwiches throughout the Carnival. On Thursday evening many of the players enjoyed relaxing at the Carnival Dinner at the local ‘Sailo’s Club Restaurant overlooking the magnificent Manning River.

Each day began with a round of the doubles round robin in which there were 6 blocks. This was followed by the singles round robin in which there were 8 blocks. The large number of players kept organisers busy, but the friendly, helpful attitude of the players meant that the days passed without incident. Many players assisted by refereeing while awaiting their turn to play. Taree Club appreciated their gesture as Carnivals require these dedicated, people if they are to run smoothly.

Carnivals also require a willing band of people to prepare the courts each morning before play is scheduled to start. Taree Club was lucky to have such people and their effort was appreciated by the organisers and the players.

The Carnival concluded with an afternoon tea which followed the presentation of prizes by Taree Croquet Club President, Bill Freeman.

The handicaps of 7 of the players changed during the Carnival, some up, some down.

The results were:

Barbara Ikin of Gloucester Croquet Club,
Winner of Singles Block H,
with Taree Croquet Club President Bill Freeman
SINGLES:Block A:Winner:Stephen DilleyMaitland
  Runner-up:Barb PiggottUrunga
 Block B:Winner:Jacky McDonaldMaitland
  Runner-up:Tony EarlePort Macquarie
 Block C:Winner:John CoatesForster
  Runner-up:John FriendBlue Mountains
 Block D:Winner:Pat NowlanYoung
  Runner-up:Bill MunnsToronto
 Block E:Winner:Carol ArmstrongTaree
  Runner-up:Betty BallJamberoo
 Block F:Winner:Sandy CouttsForster
  Runner-up:Ingrid CohenSydney
 Block G:Winner:Denise NelsonPort Macquarie
  Runner-up:Judy HopkinsGloucester
 Block H:Winner:Barbara Ikin Gloucester
  Runner-up:Irene AbbottCheltenham

Block A:Bob Ogilvie (Mt Sugarloaf)+Sheila Coates (Forster)
Block B:Jacky McDonald (Maitland)+Norma Slade (Gloucester)
Block C:Shirley Page (Toronto)+Zan Menzel (Gloucester)
Block D:John Coates (Forster)+Yvonne Fisher (Gloucester)
Block E:Jan Sage (Taree)+John Ikin (Gloucester)
Block F:Pat Nowlan (Young)+Bill Munns (Toronto)

Tom Akre
Carnival Manager