Club tournament results

56th Association Croquet Carnival
25-29 Jul 2011
Port Macquarie Croquet Club
From 25th to 29th July, the Port Macquarie Croquet Club held its 56th consecutive annual carnival, at their Buller Street courts. After a week of wild, wet weather we were blessed with perfect sunny weather for the carnival.

The 24 competitors were in the four blocks of 6 players. They were from Albury, Ballina, Forster, Independent, Jamberoo, Killara, Maitland, Mosman, Port Macquarie, Sawtell and Toronto.

On the first day, an Individual Doubles competition was held. In this event, each player plays with four different partners and against eight different opponents. The winners were:

1st: Robert Leese (Sawtell); 2nd: Barbara McTiernan (Forster); 3rd: Trevor Black (Maitland).

The results of the four day Round Robins were:

Block A: 1st Barbara McTiernan (Forster); 2nd John Deeves (Jamberoo)
Block B: 1st Peter Smith (Maitland); 2nd Jean Lieschke (Albury)
Block C: 1st Margaret Pulsford (Individual) 2nd Rob Leese (Sawtell)
Block D: 1st Ellen Puxty-Johansen (Sawtell) 2nd Glen Coulton (Toronto)

The star of the carnival was Barbara McTiernan who pegged out in her five games in her charming, relaxed style.

The referees, under the watchful eye of Tournament Referee, Jim Hicks, were Carol Armstrong, Jenny Arnold, Kurt Beck, Trevor Black, John Deeves, Pam Durie, Bridget Earle, Tony Earle, Eric Gadd, Pat Goldrick, Alan Gray, Margaret Gray, Margaret Leese, Rob Leese, Jean Lieschke, Archie McCulloch, Barb McTiernan, Sue Moss, Thyra Neilson, Ellen Puxty-Johansen, Jan Serotzk, Ray Vize and John Watson.

Bridget Earle
Carnival Manager