Club tournament results

Golf Croquet Carnival
12 - 14 Oct 2011
Taree Croquet Club
Thirty six enthusiastic players came together for the seventh Taree-on-Manning Golf Croquet Carnival which was held from 12th to 14th October 2011. One third of the players were in this carnival for the first time some having travelled from Jamberoo, Dubbo and Orange. Others from Blue Mountains, Wollongong, Sydney, Newcastle, Maitland, Urunga and local Clubs had participated in previous years.

A different format was tried this year. Each day began with players taking part in a doubles event - four Taree players making up the required numbers. Blocks of nine players then played singles.

Wednesday was a beautiful spring day and while Thursday clouded over and Friday produced a couple of showers, play continued without disruption and many close games resulted. The blocks were keenly fought with the outcome in two blocks depending on the result of the last game but not between the participants of that game.

On Thursday evening, most players adjourned to the "Sailo’s Restaurant" at the local Aquatic Club, where an enjoyable time was had by all. Many players had already patronised a number of other local restaurants.

Taree Club appreciated the local IGA store supplying some of the prizes. Other prizes were donated by local members.

The Tournament Committee and Taree Croquet Club were delighted to be visited by Croquet-NSW President John Compton and his wife Robyn on Friday. They spent some hours watching games and speaking with players after making a special trip from Maitland to Taree to visit the carnival.

Also appreciated by the organisers was the time given by many to referee the 174 games held during the carnival. Especially thanked are Bridget and Tony Earle of Port Macquarie Club who travelled down specifically to assist. Also thanked are the many competitors who refereed when not playing and Taree members Carol Armstrong, Jan Sage and Margaret Talbot.

Also to be thanked are the many Taree members; those who assisted in preparing the courts each day led by our green keeper Phill Sage, and those who worked in the kitchen led by Maree Lewis.

Players appeared to have enjoyed their time in Taree this year as half of the competitors have already paid to be in the 2012 Carnival which will be held from 10th to 12th October.

The results were as follows:

Block A: Winner: Graham Innocent (Dubbo); Runner-up: Terry Abbott (Eastwood)
Block B: Winner: Elsina Dilley (Individual); Runner-up: Margaret Sears (National Park)
Block C: Winner: John Ikin (Gloucester); Runner-up: Carol Goodman (Macquarie City)
Block D: Winner: Dion Stump (Cheltenham); Runner-up: Sandra Johnson (Macquarie City)

Block A: Winner: Stephen Dilley (Maitland) & Helen Maybury (Taree)
Block B: Winner: Dot & Pat Moroney (Jamberoo)
Block C: Winner: Kevin Owen (Jamberoo) & Dion Stump (Cheltenham)
Block D: Winner: Pam Owen (Jamberoo) & Judy Hopkins (Gloucester)
Block E: Winner: Elsina Dilley (Individual) & Will Paulson (Taree)

Tom Akre
Tournament Manager