Club tournament results

Judith Fowler Trophy
26 Nov 2013
Nowra, Jamberoo and Southern Highlands Croquet Clubs
The Judith Fowler Trophy is a silver salver presented to Nowra croquet club in 1995 by the president of the club at that time Judith Fowler to be played for by the Jamberoo, Nowra and Southern Highlands clubs. It was won by Nowra for the first four years. Southern Highlands won it in 1999 and 2000 and Jamberoo 2001, 2002, 2003 at which time it was not played for until 2012 after being found when The Jamberoo club moved into their new club house.012 and 2013 Nowra proved to be the strongest club winning the trophy both years.

On Tuesday November 26th, 2013 a team of four players from Nowra travelled to Jamberoo to do battle for the Judith Fowler trophy.

We were welcomed by the home club players with a delicious morning tea before beginning the games.

Margaret Sawers (Nowra) beat Graham Arthur (Jamberoo) 26 to 8
Rudy Katona (Nowra) playing in his first singles competition game beat Diana Chafer (Jamberoo) 16 to 6
Stewart Johnstion (Jamberoo) beat Graham Cullen (Nowra) 17 to 11
And David Probert (Jamberoo) beat John Deeves (Nowra) 23 to 22

With the scores at two games at the lunch break the result depended on the doubles teams to decide the winners.

John and Rudy beat Margaret Atkinson and Jan Griffiths (Jamberoo) 17 to 9 and Margaret and Graham beat Marilyn Benson and Pat Moroney (Jamberoo) 26 to 10 giving Nowra four games to Jamberoo’s two.

The friendly rivalry of these inter club games are what makes croquet such an enjoyable sport

Margaret Sawyer

Pat Moroney presents the Judith Fowler to Margaret Sawers
L-R: Graham Cullen, Margaret Sawers, Rudy Katona, John Deeves with Trophy
L-R Back: Graham Cullen, Rudy Katona,Jan Griffith, Margaret Atkinson
L-R Front: Margaret Sawers Pat Moroney, John Deeves, Graham Arthur