Club tournament results

63rd Annual Association Croquet Carnival
23-27 Jul 2018
Port Macquarie Croquet Club
Warm sunny conditions permitted five days of Association Croquet from 23rd to 27th July 2018. This year, four of the five block winners, Barb McTiernan, Jenny Baldwin, Bernie Gibson and Robynne Madgwick, won all their games in their respective blocks.

The results for each block were:

Block A Winner: Barb McTiernan (Forster), Runner Up: Tony Hall (Canberra)
Block B Winner: Jenny Baldwin (Forster), Runner Up: Barb Piggott (Urunga)
Block C Winner: Rod Munro (Sawtell), Runner Up: Jean Lieschke (Albury)
Block D Winner: Bernie Gibson (Manly), Runner Up: Kay Munro (Sawtell)
Block E Winner: Robynne Madgwick, Runner Up: Sue Eldridge-Smith (Cammeray)

The "First to Peg Out" trophy went to Tony Hall. The collage shows a picture of Tony Hall getting ready to peg out an opponent’s ball during that game.

Prime 7 gave us coverage in the local sports section on the Thursday evening (26th). The social events on Monday, Wednesday and of course the presentation dinner on Friday, were all well attended. Our Club Patron, Mayor Peta Pinson and major sponsor, Westport Sporting Club represented by the General Manager Tony Westman, handed out prizes to the various winners and runners-up of the blocks.

My thanks go to all those players who support our carnival each year, as well as putting their hands up to help referee games. Jim Hicks, as usual, did a sterling job as Deputy Tournament Referee. Club members contributed to the provision of goodies for the kitchen (run by Sue Shenton), raffle prizes (run by Jane Martin) and general assistance where needed. Special mention to Graeme Meers, who opened the club house by 5.45am on Thursday and Friday mornings, getting it ready for the start of the day’s play. Sue Moss and Sue Shenton again did a super job of catering for the presentation dinner. John Watson provided a splendid cover sheet for the carnival programme. Lastly, and by no means least, thanks to the Tournament Secretary Bridget Earle, who has held this mantle for the last 14 years (and will do so again next year), for keeping everyone who participated on their toes each and every day.

Robin Shenton
Tournament Manager and Referee