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From time to time, between full revisions of the Golf Croquet Rules, the  WCF 
Golf Croquet Rules Committee intends to release Official Rulings. They are 
prepared in response to questions about how particular Rules should be 
applied and have the same standing as the Rules themselves.  
 
The first set of such Rulings are given below and are effective immediately. 
 
Rule 5 Ruling:  
5.1 A game starts when a player strikes or attempts to strike a ball with the 
intention of starting the game.   
 
5.2 Balls are outside agencies until they are played into the game in 
accordance with rule 5.  If it is noticed that a wrong ball has been played 
before all four balls have been played into the game, the game reverts to its 
state after the last turn played correctly in sequence. 
 
5.3 If the striker commits a non-striking fault before the ball is played in one of 
the first four turns of the game the ball remains an outside agency until it is 
played from the starting area in a later turn. 
 
5.4  If the striker commits a striking fault in one of the first four turns, the ball 
has been played into the game irrespective of whether the opponent chooses 
to leave it where it stopped or to have it replaced in the position it occupied in 
the starting area before the fault was committed. 
 
Rule 6 Ruling: 
6.1 If a player while preparing to strike a ball, makes contact with another ball, 
not the striker’s ball, and before striking the ball he intends to strike, the 
contact is a non-striking fault and not the playing of a wrong ball.   
 
Rule 8 Ruling: 
8.1 If a player acts on incorrect information given by the opponent and it is 
discovered before that player plays the same ball again, the player shall have 
the choice of a replay or allowing the play to stand, including any points 
scored in order. 
 
Rule 9 Ruling: 
9.1 When two sides play simultaneously or nearly simultaneously, so that two  
balls are in motion at the same time, the striker is deemed to have played first 
irrespective of the actual order in which the two strokes were played and the 
other side commits a non-striking fault.  If the commission of the fault affects 
the outcome of the striker’s play, the striker may choose to have all balls 
affected by the fault replaced in the positions they occupied before either 
stroke was played and to replay the turn.  If the striker’s ball runs a hoop in 



order or causes another ball so to do after being affected by the fault, the 
striker may choose to waive the fault and score the point and, in that case, the 
other side does not lose its next turn. 
 
9.2 When both players of a side play simultaneously or nearly simultaneously 
so that two balls are in motion at the same time the striker’s play stands and 
the partner has committed a non-striking fault.  No replay is permitted. 
 
Rule 10 Ruling: 
10.1 The exemption under Law 10(b)(2) shall not apply to a ball whose owner 
misses a turn in that position because of a non-striking fault. 
 
10.2 The exemption under Rule 10(b)(3) does not result from a ball being 
played away from an opponent ball with which it was in contact 
 
10.3 Reference to the play of the owner of an offside ball in Rule 10(c)(2), 
includes play by the partner in a doubles game and play of either of the 
owner's balls in a singles game. 
 
Rule 15 Ruling: 
15.1 A referee should only intervene under Rule 15(b)(4)(iii) if he is personally 
watching the game and is able to stop play immediately after the stroke in 
which a hoop is incorrectly run.   


