Australia wins MacRobertson Shield

Australia have won the coveted MacRobertson Shield for Association Croquet for the first time since 1935. The event is held every three to 4 years between Great Britain, USA, NZ and Australia and runs for three weeks with each team of 6 players competing over three 5 day tests. Each 5 day test test consists 9 doubles and 12 singles, all best-of-three untimed matches. A few tough matches of this event went for over 10 hours in often searing heat.

The event cycles through the 4 nations and was held held this time round at Mission Hills Croquet Club in the Californian desert with daily temperatures of up to 41 degrees so endurance under the greatest of pressure was a large part of our teamís success.

The team was managed by Peter Landrebe, Australian High Performance manager and, in left to right order - Peter Landrebe, Simon Hockey, Robert Fletcher, Malcolm Fletcher, Greg Fletcher and, kneeling, Stephen Forster and Ian Demergue, the Captain, holding THE SHIELD.

Congratulations also to Alison Sharpe, Charles Britton and Roberta Flint for successfully conspiring to get an extended interview with Pete Landrebe on AM, Radio National. The the audio of the segment can be heard here.

The next MacRob will be held in Australia in 2021... plan to come and support our Defending Champions... be there or be square!