
Prepared by Lorraine Hatfield  SDR-GC(NSW)            June 2022  

***  Scenarios introducing new concepts in the 6th Edition of the GC Rules  *** 
 
Scenario 1 - Annulment of a stroke 
The owner of blue hits the blue ball which then makes contact with the red ball and sends it towards corner 2.  The 
blue ball then goes "in-off" the red through hoop 2.  The owner of black sees red moving and thinks it's their turn. 
As soon as red stops, the owner of the black ball plays black towards hoop 3.   Play is forestalled - Wrong Ball. 
Analysing the stroke on black using the order specified in 10.2.2 results in the conclusion that the Blue/Black side 
was not entitled to play. (The previous stroke had been played by the owner of the blue ball.)  So 10.3 applies.   
The stroke on black is annulled. The black ball (and any other balls moved) is replaced and the WB play is ignored.    
Rule 6.3.6    Having annulled the stroke played on black, the last stroke is now the stroke played by the owner of the 
blue ball.  So the next ball to be played is red.  
 
Scenario 2 - Annulment and Analysing Wrong Ball Play 
The blue ball has just run hoop 9.  Yellow is offside and is sent to the far (Western) penalty area  
The owner of red plays the black ball towards hoop 10.   The owner of yellow arrives at the penalty area and turns 
just in time to see the black ball coming to a stop.  
They think it is their turn and so play the yellow ball towards hoop 10.  
The yellow ball does not make contact with any other ball.  Play is forestalled - Wrong ball!!  
Analysing the stroke on yellow using the order specified in 10.2.2 results in the following: Red/Yellow side was not 
entitled to play. (The previous stroke had been played by the owner of red.)  So 10.3 applies.    
The stroke on the yellow ball is annulled, the yellow ball is replaced in the penalty area and the WB play is ignored.   
Rule 6.3.6  With the stroke on yellow having been annulled, the WB play on black (by owner of red) becomes the 
LAST stroke and it can now be analysed and the appropriate remedy applied as follows:  
Red/Yellow side were entitled to play so 10.3 does not apply. 
There was no WB play in the previous stroke (the stroke when blue ran hoop 9).  So 10.4 does not apply. 
When the owner of red (correct side) played black, this was Striker's side played an opponent ball.    
So 10.5.3 applies. The only remedy here is " Replace and Replay". Rule 10.5.5 
The black ball is replaced and the owner of red replays their stroke using the red ball. 
 
Scenario 3 - hoop run out-of-order 
After running hoop 8, the players turn down the middle, and after a few more strokes, the Blue ball runs hoop 5 
(thinking it is the next hoop after hoop 8) and puts a clip on the hoop.  
(a) Suddenly, one of the players realises they have made a mistake.  They forestall play and after discussion 
everyone agrees which hoop they should be playing for. The clip put on hoop 5 by mistake is taken off and returned 
to the blue/black side. The last ball to play was Blue, so Red plays next - from where it is - to hoop 9, followed by 
the other balls in sequence.  Rule 7.9.2 
(b) Alternatively, the referee supervising this game returns from adjudicating a stroke on an adjacent lawn.    
The referee discovers that, while they were on the other lawn, hoop 5 has been claimed out of order by Blue and all 
the players are now competing for hoop 6.  The referee forestalls play.  Rule 7.9.3 applies then Rule 15.4.1   
The clip put on hoop 5 by mistake is taken off and returned to the blue/black side. The referee then conducts a 
Penalty Area Continuation playing for hoop 9.  
 
Scenario 4 - hoop contested out-of-order 
The red ball runs hoop 8.  The owner of black mistakenly thinks the next hoop is hoop 5, and because the black ball 
is near the South boundary (and not offside), they try to run hoop 5 with the black ball.  The stroke misses the hoop.   
Then the owner of yellow plays the yellow ball across to hoop 5. 
The referee in charge of this game could intervene here, especially if it was a singles game, because "both sides have 
contested a hoop out of order". (Rule 7.9.3 then Rule 15.4.1)   
However, if it was a doubles game it would be worth waiting to see what the owners of the blue and red balls will 
do.  The referee wants to be quite sure that none of the four players has realised this hoop is out of order. Both the 
blue and the red balls are played by their owners towards hoop 5.  So now the referee intervenes and conducts a 
Penalty Area Continuation. 
 
Scenario 5 - hoop claimed out-of-order  Extra care required! 
The red ball runs hoop 8.  The owner of black mistakenly thinks the next hoop is hoop 5, and because the black ball 
is near the South boundary (and not offside), they try to run hoop 5 with the black ball.  The black ball runs hoop 5 
and the owner of black joyfully puts a clip on the hoop.  The referee realises this is the situation described in Rule 
15.4.2.  Although the hoop has clearly been run and claimed out of order, the referee must wait to see what the 
owner of the yellow ball does before intervening.  If Yellow disregards that Black has claimed the incorrect hoop 
and plays across to the correct hoop - hoop 9 - then the referee does not need to intervene. (Black has simply wasted 
their turn going for the wrong hoop. 
However, if the owner of yellow now plays the yellow ball towards hoop 6 thinking it is now the next hoop in order, 
this is the time for the referee to intervene, forestall play and conduct a Penalty Area Continuation. Hoop 8 is the last 
hoop scored correctly, the clip would be removed from hoop 5 and play would be directed towards hoop 9. 


